MiRCTECH Alumni, Dr. John Papapolymerou, and other Georgia Tech Authors co-receive the H.A. Wheeler Prize Paper Award of the IEEE APS

Dr. Chad PattersonAna YepesDr. Swapan K. BhattacharyaDr. Papapolymerou
From left to right: Dr. Chad Patterson, Ana M. Yepes,
Dr. Swapan Bhattacharya and Dr. John Papapolymerou.

Press release excerpt:

(The) paper entitled “A Lightweight Organic X-Band Active Receiving Phased Array with Integrated SiGe Amplifiers and Phase Shifters,” (…) was published in volume 59, number 1, pp. 100-109 of the transactions. Sponsored by NASA, the work described in this paper focuses on the development of a lightweight, low cost, conformal, and compact X-band phased array for ice/snow measurements that are critical for weather forecasting and environmental analysis. This technology can also be used for weather radars and in a variety of wireless communication and sensor systems at other frequencies, such as high speed wireless with Gbps transmission rates.

Dr. Papapolymerou’s coauthors on the paper were his Ph.D. student Chad Patterson, who is co-advised by College of Engineering Dean Gary May; Ana Yepes, an M.S. graduate of Dr. Papapolymerou’s group who is now working at Intel; Swapan Bhattacharya, a former postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Papapolymerou’s group who is now a senior research scientist in the School of Physics at Georgia Tech; John Cressler, the Ken Byers Professor in ECE; Tushar Thrivikraman, a Ph.D. graduate of John Cressler’s group who is now working at NASA-JPL; and Sean Begley, a research engineer in GTRI.

See the official press release.

Posted in News
MiRCTECH Affiliations

ECEBuzzGeorgia Electronic Design Center0000000720_College_of_Engineering_outline_blackand124_rv gatech